29 March 2016

Milan Underground


The Milan underground, or subway, with three lines and a total extension of 88 km, is the longest in Italy and the mainstay of the local public transport system. 66 kilometers in the municipal area while the remaining 22 reach the hinterland municipalities. It has 94 stations and it’s composed by the three main lines that are commonly referred to according to their colors that identify them. The color is used in the maps, in the livery of trains and furnishings of the stations.

Red Line M1 from Sesto 1° Maggio to Rho Fiera/Bisceglie, line 1, was the first line to be built; the first stretch of 12 km in length from Lotto to Sesto Marelli, was inaugurated on 1 November 1964.

Green Line M2 from Abbiategrasso/Assago Milanofiori Forum – Cologno Nord/Gessate, line 2, was the first strech between Caiazzo and Gobba and was opened in December 1969.

Yellow line M3 from San Donato to Comasina, line 3, had the first section open between the Central Station and the Duomo, in 1990 in time for the football World Cup.

The Rho Fiera station is the north west terminus for Line 1. It can be reached the train stations Centrale, Porta Garibaldi and Lambrate take the green subway line toward Abbiategrasso; get off at Cadorna station and change to the red line toward Rho Fiera Milano. For more informations ATM.